About the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology

The Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology is a regional resource for clinical laboratory services required for innovative patient care, research and educational programs. We combine the sophisticated testing and informatics capabilities of fully accredited laboratories with the resources of an academic institution in its delivery of clinical and anatomical pathology services. Recognized for excellence in clinical training, world-class research initiatives, and a commitment to community service, we serve the five-state WWAMI region: WA, WY, AK, MT, and ID.

We have over 300 faculty members, 56 residents and fellows, and over 1,400 staff members supporting clinical service, research, and teaching activities at the UW Medical Center – Montlake and Northwest campuses, Harborview Medical Center, 14 UW Neighborhood Clinics, our South Lake Union campus, and at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, Seattle Children’s Hospital, the Veteran’s Administration Puget Sound Healthcare System, and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Clinical training includes a vibrant medical school curriculum, and Pathology Residency training in AP, CP, AP/CP, and AP/NP tracks as well as 16 Clinical Subspecialty Fellowship programs. Our Department developed two highly respected Ph.D. training programs: the UW Medical Scientist Training Program, an MD/PhD program; and the more recent, innovative Molecular Medicine and Mechanisms of Disease (M3D) PhD program, focused on graduate training at the interface of medicine and science, as well as a BS in Medical Laboratory Science and a MS in Laboratory Medicine.

We are well known for research and are highly funded by the NIH and other funding institutions, including the Department of Defense, and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Current and former faculty members have been inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2), American Association for the Advancement of Science (11), National Academy of Medicine (2), and National Academy of Sciences (1).